July 19, 2005

  • Comic-Con ASIFA Panel – Eddie

    On Saturday I was part of a panel discussion organized by ASIFA“State of the Animation Industry”. It was a general discussion about Animation today, and where it may be heading.  I was the TV/Flash representative.  Alongside me were Donovan Cook (director of the first Mickey Mouse feature: The Three Musketeers), Aki Umemoto (Creative Director of Mattel Toys), Jon M. Gibson (writer and long-time gaming reporter), and Bob Bergen (voice actor – the current voice of Porky Pig in ‘Duck Dodgers’).  The moderator was ASIFA’s  Larry Loc.

    It was a great turn out – thanks to everyone who showed up to hear us talk for 90 minutes!

    I was personally thrilled by all the people who appraoched me later for a copy of the ¡Mucha Lucha! sketchbook.  I met some great people – animators, fans, artists, writers –  and was really humbled and heartened by everyone’s compliments of the show.  It really made me think that Fwak! should have a booth at Comic-Con next year.

     
    It was also a blast to finally meet fellow panelist (and talented nice guy) Donovan Cook.  My first job in Layout was on his show 2 Stupid Dogs back in 1993.  As a lowly trainee back then, I never dreamed I would be one day sitting next to him on a panel discussing ‘The Future of Animation’ :)
     

     Some Highlights – Lili

    This Comic-Con, I was still amused and astounded by the number of Stormtroopers on the scene. Although I wasn’t able to join Eddie on Saturday’s panel,thank you to everyone who showed up and we hope you enjoy the ¡Mucha Lucha! Sketchbook. I will be putting these sketches online when we run out of (signed) hard copies.

    I also wish to send out a huge THANK YOU to the kind lady who found my Amtrak ticket, submitted this to the Convention Center’s ‘Lost & Found’ Dept, who ALSO showed up at the ASIFA panel to let me know she had done this. Whew!!! Thank you so much!

    Via my camera, bundle of swag and postcards…



    Mister Monster by Elizabeth Ito



    EBOY figures, coming to STRANGECo



    I want this cool new “Opera Dude” by Tokyoplastic!



    OCTOPO by Android8

    Unklbrand have some really awesome little figures, my fave being the Tinpo series & OCTOPO by Android8. I also met Paul Cruikshank, the creator of Circus Punks. I will be customizing a Circus Punk for their NYC show this year.

    Pumpkin Creative: The War.
    The trailer for this 2D/3D animated film from Taiwan looked intriguing, but they couldn’t tell me where or when the film will be shown.

    Ragnar’s prints, t-shirts and books are cool. 

      

    Sanjay Patel  is a Pixar animator who designs cutesy Hindu Gods & Goddesses characters on books, t-shirts, and posters.

    Frank Espinosa’s  Rocketo “Issue 0” – signed.

    Dave Crosland’s Superhero Prints.

    And of course, it was a blast to see our back cover for Rafael Navarro’s Sonambulo: “Mexican Stand-Off Part 2”

    Three random photos…



    Our friend George Krstic (on the right as a Colonial Marine)
    with Harley Quinn & The Joker

    Miss Lisa Jones with a BULL-headed guy.



    Stormtrooper Elvis!

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *