July 23, 2006

  • So this year’s San Diego Comic-Con  was super short and sweet for me. And I went straight to my favorite areas (Art Toy section, “Artists’ Alley” & bookstores ) instead of walking through the entire floor of 5000+ booths. With the trains running late all weekend, and the extra millions of people pushing and shoving through the convention center in the stifling heat….  I am so glad to be home!

    As always, it was fun to catch up with people I haven’t seen in ages and to make new contacts and put faces to names. Thank you to everyone who showed up at the Mimoco booth for the Ginchy postcard signing on Saturday. (Sorry  if I seemed distracted and cranky… I blame Amtrak!!!!! ) The Ginchy series mimobots will be launched in October.

    I wanted to travel light this year, so my purchases were limited to posters, prints and magazines. Here are some favorites:

    abduction
    Mark Gonyea  
    Mini comics on posters.

    martinprint

    Martin Ontiveros  (@ the Pu Pu Bros booth)
    It was tough choosing between this print and a set of really cool cards…

    kdart105_zoom

    Kevin Dart & Chris Turham
    Their prints are stunning. I think I will be ordering more online.

    Hi Fructose (special Mark Ryden & Viewmaster edition) and Animation Blast #9 .(So bummed that I missed out on Amid’s Cartoon Modern book @ Chronicle)

    And this funny FREE quick sketch of Wes by Xaime Hernandez.
    (Wes: “A perfect portrait of my anxiety”)
    I also stopped by the Wacom booth and learnt how to customize the “express buttons” on my Wacom Cintiq. Now I can put that keyboard aside, and quickly toggle between the drawing tools in Flash (selection, brush, zoom in and out, ctrl G, ctrl Z etc) on the Cintiq monitor itself! Very cool indeed. No more left arm-reaching-for-the-keyboard strain.

    cintiq-popup


    …when I click on the left  button, I get a pop-up menu of  Flash keyboard shortcuts. The next two buttons zoom in and out.  All done via Wacom settings in the Control Panel.

Comments (3)

  • I picked up the same Gonyea print last year — I love it! I only had a couple minutes to stop by his booth as I spotted it just as I was leaving for the airport, but I loved his new prints as well.

  • Hey Lili – Thanks for picking up Blast #9 and sorry to hear Cartoon Modern was sold out. The folks at the Chronicle booth told me people wouldn’t stop asking about the book so there’s certainly a lot of disappointed 50s-design fans. Oh well, at least it’ll be out next month.See ya around,Amid

  • Hi Amid – Your book is very popular :) And I can’t wait!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *