Month: July 2006

  •      Blessing Of The Cars

     An annual LA event at Hansen Dam Park that is getting bigger each year.  Bring your pre-’68 vehicle along and get it blessed by a real live priest…

    Grandpa Munster’s rod — the original Dragula by George Barris

    This old school scooter caught my eye

    Blessed are the cars…

    Encounter

    Last week was a dinner organized by Lili at the iconic ‘Encounter’ restaurant at LAX.  This place will always be a tantalizing glimpse of a future that was promised, but never happened…

     Interior003

    Skyward001 

    Skyward002 

     

  • So this year’s San Diego Comic-Con  was super short and sweet for me. And I went straight to my favorite areas (Art Toy section, “Artists’ Alley” & bookstores ) instead of walking through the entire floor of 5000+ booths. With the trains running late all weekend, and the extra millions of people pushing and shoving through the convention center in the stifling heat….  I am so glad to be home!

    As always, it was fun to catch up with people I haven’t seen in ages and to make new contacts and put faces to names. Thank you to everyone who showed up at the Mimoco booth for the Ginchy postcard signing on Saturday. (Sorry  if I seemed distracted and cranky… I blame Amtrak!!!!! ) The Ginchy series mimobots will be launched in October.

    I wanted to travel light this year, so my purchases were limited to posters, prints and magazines. Here are some favorites:

    abduction
    Mark Gonyea  
    Mini comics on posters.

    martinprint

    Martin Ontiveros  (@ the Pu Pu Bros booth)
    It was tough choosing between this print and a set of really cool cards…

    kdart105_zoom

    Kevin Dart & Chris Turham
    Their prints are stunning. I think I will be ordering more online.

    Hi Fructose (special Mark Ryden & Viewmaster edition) and Animation Blast #9 .(So bummed that I missed out on Amid’s Cartoon Modern book @ Chronicle)

    And this funny FREE quick sketch of Wes by Xaime Hernandez.
    (Wes: “A perfect portrait of my anxiety”)
    I also stopped by the Wacom booth and learnt how to customize the “express buttons” on my Wacom Cintiq. Now I can put that keyboard aside, and quickly toggle between the drawing tools in Flash (selection, brush, zoom in and out, ctrl G, ctrl Z etc) on the Cintiq monitor itself! Very cool indeed. No more left arm-reaching-for-the-keyboard strain.

    cintiq-popup


    …when I click on the left  button, I get a pop-up menu of  Flash keyboard shortcuts. The next two buttons zoom in and out.  All done via Wacom settings in the Control Panel.
  • Comic-Con - Lili

    We have received a bunch of emails enquiring about our presence at the San Diego Comic this year. I will be joining the masses either on Friday or Saturday, and if you see me wandering around, please say hi!

    Sorry, we don’t have a new volume of the Mucha Lucha Sketchbook this year, but I will be bringing more FREE copies of Vol. 1.

    On Saturday you will find me with at the Mimoco booth, signing a very ginchy photo postcard with Brian McCarty for the GINCHY mimobots I designed. Unfortunately, this series isn’t ready for release at the SDCC, but you can preview samples and pre-order.

    *UPDATE: I will be at the Mimobot booth on Saturday 22nd, 2.30-3.30pm.




    Lucha Libre Links <— After 2 years of neglect, we have updated this page. Man, it’s hard to keep up with all these new blogs, websites, Flickr and YouTube links! :)

    Below, a birthday present illustration for Christa.


  • Bakshi’s latest film

    bakshi-coneyisland

    The above pics images from Ralph Bakshi’s latest production – Last Days of Coney Island - were found via this post at the Ralph Bakshi discussion forums.

    Bakshi: “I
    am now started with what could be my last feature called Last Days at
    Coney Island which I have designed, written and directed. I’ve hired 2
    animators – more about them later – and have recorded the first 10
    minutes. It’s extremely strange – even for me. Hopefully I can finish
    this – it’s extremely low budget which allows me the freedom I want.
    It’s only in low budget that the big shots don’t care what you’re
    doing. Low budget does not mean bad film. It forces you to make the
    film very direct.”

    Right on. Should we look at our small budgets/crews and shake our heads, Bakshi’s attitude towards filmmaking always inspires and motivates!

    On a sidenote, we have been receiving email requests for a repost of Scatman Crothers’ “Ahm a Niggerman” on this previous blog entry. Done! You can now download it HERE.