November 18, 2004

  • Retail Therapy in K.L. - Lili

    While Eddie was enjoying PWG in Los Feliz (see previous post), I spent a couple of days in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) en route from Sydney to L.A. visiting my family. KL, like most fast-developing cosmopolitan Asian cities, is a place where people spend a lot of time shopping, eating, and shopping. If you want to sample the best food in the world, enjoy a permanently warm and tropical climate and geek-out on cheap shopping, this is the place to be.


    It’s Hari Raya (public holiday) so Bukit Bintang Rd 
    seems unusually serene on a Monday morning


    The night I arrived, we had ‘Bak Kut Teh’ for supper on Alor Road.
    BTW, Fried Chilli Frog is NOT your standard M’sian fare.
    I took this pic because I was wondering myself: “Do people really eat this?!”

    The part of K.L. I love wandering through is “The Golden Triangle” – a bustling touristy area with zillions of tall hotels, street stores, Starbucks/Coffee Bean outlets and giant shopping malls (to rival Hong Kong) selling anything and everything: Designer and quirky clothes, bags, shoes, housewares, digital gadgets, eats, bootleg software and … TOYS!!!

    On Monday, my brother and I visited about TEN toy stores, all within walking distance of each other, scattered amongst the mega malls on Bukit Bintang Road.


    Cool Toys is a fave with lots of vinyls
    (top floor – Hobby Center, Sungei Wang Plaza)


    Fantasy Toys (Low Yat Plaza)
    - tons of Star Wars, Spawn, LOTR, Anime figures


    Graffiti Toys (Times Square – a new megamall on Imbi Road)


    … I couldn’t believe how much Incredibles stuff there was. Even bootlegs.
    Still have yet to see this movie!

    And what’s so good about toy shopping in K.L.?

    • Abundance of toy stores!!!
    • Toys are CHEAP here! (Ok, some bootlegs, but they look good to me!)
    • You can buy blind box figures in complete SETS!!!
    • Interestingly, most figures are sold only as a SERIES. The hardcore collectors who run the toy stores will not part with the pieces individually as much as you plead. Which is awesome if you are a collector looking for a bargain. And a pain in the ass if you have limited space in your suitcase! (For example, I was very tempted by this Yamato StoryImage Samurai  series)
    • Seeing cool stuff that I have never seen anywhere online, didn’t know existed and still have no idea who designed them.
    • The stores are open till 10pm. Some even midnight!

    OK, I have to gloat. Some of the swag (which btw are not all for me) -


    Dude with cleaver (Jason Choy design) $10


    Alphabet SHE figures.
    I bought a ’mini figure’ set for approx $5

     
    From Crayon Shin Chan Gashapon series.
    approx. $7 for set of 4!

    Next time, I promise I will stay longer, bring a bigger suitcase and take advance orders.

    Upcoming local toy events:

Comments (10)

  • KL sounds really interesting. I loved Singapore when I was there a couple of years ago, and was hoping to get a chance to visit Malaysia this March, but then my class venue was changed to Sydney.I dunno about Chilli Frogs either, but Chilli crabs, now them’s good eatin’!

  • Eeeeee! Look at the Totoro next to the alphabet she figures! Next time you’re over there, I want one of them!!! Eeeeee!
    Tree

  • Matt – KL is very similar to Singapore, but messier. Not as pristine and organized! Chilli crabs are yummm… In fact, we had some on Tuesday night!
    Tree – There was SO MUCH Tortoro stuff!!! Yes, next time… ;)

  • Wow!
    Sounds like you have a very nice trip.
    Have you ever seen any Mucha Lucha stuff in Malaysia?

  • pcdoctor01 – No Mucha Lucha stuff, unfortunately. ML merch is only available in the USA.

  • Oooo! Thanks for the info Lili! I had no idea Kidrobot was opening a store. I’m gonna go first thing tomorrow!-Annette (H)

  • Annette – I’m not 100% sure it’s tomorrow… but it’s going to be SOON anyway…

  • Thank you for this great blog information! I’m finding this whole blogging world a great resource for any topic, and really inspirational.UK Shopping Stores

  • This was a fantastic post. Really loved reading your weblog post. The information was very informative and helpful. I hope you proceed posting and updating frequently. Wanting forward to your next one.Shopping Stores

  • hey, i’m a vinyl addict much like you and i’m visiting kuala lumpur in a few days’ time. besides those shops you mentioned through photos on this entry, where else did you go, or can i go to for my vinyl fix? you can mail me for a response too. cheers!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *