August 17, 2004

  • We had our Jive Turkey Experience pitch this morning!  Will know more later…  
    Related (recycled) Links – JTE inspiration:

    1. Movies: Hairspray (as you already know), Twist  
    2. TV: American Bandstand, Soul Train, Flintstones Episodes. 
    3. DVDs: Go Go Robics, Graffiti Rock
    4. Magazine article: The Face: Jamaican dancehall dances  (more here )
    5. Music: Internet radio programs like the Friendly Persuasion Show. And we found this song below, which we absolutely love because it’s a perfect blend of the old and the new –


    by Shiro The Goodman
    (sampler CD/ROMZ label)


    On Cartoon Brew, Amid blogs about the upcoming Pictoplasma Character Design Conference:

    A common trait that runs through a startling majority of the sample artwork posted on the conference site is the noticeable absence of personality in the designs. Too many artists today seem overly focused on discovering a graphic solution to characters, in other words the “design” aspect of the equation, while completely neglecting the “character” portion which dictates that the graphics should communicate personality and emotion. The end product is designs that succeed as iconic imagery, perfectly suitable for being printed onto T-shirts and adapted into toys, but unsuccessful as character designs that are meant to engage and entertain audiences.

    As much as we love the two Pictoplasma books (1 & 2) which in my opinion, are a wealth of iconic design inspiration, we totally agree with the comment above. Character designs that look good in plastic or on tshirts don’t necessarily do it for me on screen. So many cartoon characters on TV today look really cool because they are so “designy” but at the same time it’s hard to warm to them as living characters.

    Which is not a bad thing if you watch to be aesthetically-informed or inspired; not to be entertained or swept along into the story.

    One gets the impression that most animation artists today are more interested in flexing their ‘designer’ muscles than imagining how the character will emote or move on screen. We’ve been guilty of this too…


    Podium Boy (appeared in Pictoplasma Vol. 1)
    © 2000 Fwak! Animation

    Eddie: Amid at Cartoon Brew has really hit the nail on the head. 

    I think part of the Animation industry’s over-infatuation with iconic design stems from the trend and success of “retro” looking shows like Dexter’s Lab.  Success of course, breeds imitation.  So much so, that I find it hard to distinguish between the design style of Dexter, Fairly Oddparents, Teenage Robot, and Grim And Evil.

    As Lili has said, we’re guilty of this too, and it has been on our mind for some time.  A move back to character animation through acting – not design – is something we’re going to try and consciously achieve in our Boy Lobster cartoon.

Comments (5)

  • The over abundance of the the flat “CalArts” look has definitely worn thin. Go back and watch some early Betty Boops or any MGM/WB short from the 40s and you’ll see what’s lacking in todays cartoons. Depth, strong poses and acting. Most of todays cartoons lack any of the subtlety of emotions and action found in those early classics. I recently saw Spumcos new Ren & Stimpy short called “Stimpys Pregnant”. It clearly blows away any cartoon animation made for TV on every level.

  • Bromero, I remember back in the mid-90′s when I was a layout artist, and ’2 Stupid Dogs’ (designed by Craig McCracken) came along.  It was a breath of fresh air, and introduced a design style that was new and innovative next to everything else.
    But I have to agree that the current flat, graphic style that has sprung from this – and become the animation norm – is played out. 
    And I know that from my current experiences in the industry, that Layout and Animation have definitely slipped behind design, in terms of priority.  -Eddie

  • The current trends towards design and staging over all else are part of what has me disgruntled with the current state of the animation industry, and loathe to keep looking for work in TV. I feel like everything I see when I turn on the TV is Yogi Bear design with Robotech staging and timing.Like anyone who’s been through Spümcø, I have an appreciation for Ed Benedict… but, geeze, it’s not the whole of the world. It’s time for everyone to start ripping off someone new.I propose Winsor McCay. n.n-Peggy

  • I hear you, Peggy. Hang in there…Trends come and go…I think the Animation design style we’ve been discussing has just reached its point of no return with ‘Foster’s'…and I mean that in a good way.I can’t help feeling we’re at the beginning of an aesthetic shift in TV Animation – Eddie

  • Yeah. After writing that I had some later thoughts that, well, this is the way the biz works now. Execs want some variation of the Hot Look. Right now everyone’s still scrambling for the Genncraig McCrackavosky look because PPG and Dexter did pretty well. Before that, the main look I remember was the Batman: Animated look. Before that it was the last trailing waves of Ren and Beavis and Stimpy and Butthead.What little I’ve seen of “Foster’s” looks interesting. I should try and get ahold of some eps (no cable!) even though I suspect I’ll see all the Flashiness.It’s probably about time for a New Look. One comes along every five or ten years, and I recall that PPG was taking off a little after the time I came to LA… eight years back. WHat will it be? I don’t know. It’ll be new, at least.-Peggy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *