August 1, 2004

  • Day 4 in the Big Apple. It’s 5.00pm and we’re resting our weary feet back at the apartment…

    Chelsea Treasures

    The Bright Food Shop
    The last time we were in NYC we fell in love with this Chelsea cafe-foodstore. Four years later, the place has changed. Gone are the the retro-diner vibe, the floral table coverings and the Mexican-rockabilly waiter who inspired an incidental character in Mucha Lucha (‘The Dogcatcher’ aka Esteban). The place looks more like a standard cafe now, but the food is still delicious. What they call ”Latin-Asian Fusion”. I had a “Smoked Salmon Maki” with salsa. Eddie’s “Mexican French Toast” was out of this world: fried tortillas with piloncillo, bananas and orange cream. Then we went next door to the foodstore and found some arty Loteria fridge magnets and $1.50 luchador yo-yos.

    Flea Markets
    Wandering through several flea markets around 24th-25th streets, we came across a stall with Russian/Soviet memorabilia. We wanted to buy everything (from the Sputnik paperweight, to the drinking flasks and old tin alarm clocks) but we restrained ourselves. I got myself a winter hat, and Eddie found an antique lamp of the ‘Cosmonautics Monument’  which we actually drew in our Cosmic Baby pilot!

     
    Comrade Chin (I feel like an Inquisitor) & Soviet ‘Kosmos’ lamp


    From: “Cosmic Baby’s Giant Leap” pilot,
    with Space monument on the left.

    Heading back to the apartment in SoHo (via Williamsburg and Lafayette Street), we dropped by the Kid Robot store again – seeing that it was on the way, and Jack behind the counter asked me where I got my ML tshirt. Turns out that ML is one of his favorite cartoons and he’s a lucha libre fan too! (he has all the toys, and his gf is a Buena Girl fan) Jack showed us Kid Robot’s brand new DUNNY* figure – El Dunny Loco! - coming soon!

    *I wonder what DUNNY means in the US, because in Australia it’s a slang word for toilet.

Comments (9)

  • Wow, cool stuff! I’m so jealous that you’re in NY right now–I lived there from 97-99 while going to school there, and while I’m happy to be back in Southern California, I do miss it. It’s always fun to read or hear about what’s going on there, esp. in the Chelsea area, which is where I spent a majority of my time. I liked your photos from the Comicon, too–I was there Saturday as well and had a lot of fun. Anyway, keep on keeping on!

  • oh god!  that hat is so cool!!  do they have an online shop?  what cool stuff.  I’ve always had a thing for the ‘mysteries of Russia’!

  • I’ve never been to NY, but I hope to visit at some point. The food sounds so unique and scrumptious! I love being able to choose between the different ethnicities of the offerings. Anything Mexican is just fine by me! And that Russian memorabilia sounds fascinating! Gotta love that hat!
    Thanks so much for subbing (I have done the same), and have a great week! Hope to talk again soon!

  • Lexie23 – thanks! I’m jealous that you’ve lived in NY!
    To_Serve_Man – I wish there was a website too, but I think not. The items looked like they were from the old guy’s personal collection (he was Russian). 
    PhuYuck – thanks! You too.
    - Lili

  • The dunny thing makes me giggle immaturely. The game ‘Myst’ had a world called ‘Dunny’ in it. But they changed the spelling of it in later editions.
    Tree

  • Hi Tree - that’s funny! So what does one find in a Dunny world? (I never got very far with Myst)
    To_Serve_Man – I did some googling and found THIS. I guess it’s a Russian Civil War Hat!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *