July 3, 2004

  • Time to clean our apartment. It’s a pigsty.

    Might go to the GR2 opening tonight… Tomorrow – Euro2004 Final match; Gene Autry Museum, and fireworks… Happy 4th of July! everyone

    Wondering if we should extend our hotel booking in San Diego for another night… There are some cool things happening at Comic-con . Jerry Beck writes:

    I’ll be part of a panel/tribute to Bob Clampett with Mark Evanier and other special guests. I’m hoping to show a part of a Bob Clampett documentary that will be included as bonus material on Looney Tunes Golden Collection volume 2. So come by and get a sneak preview. I will be moderating a spotlight on Sid Jacobson on Friday July 23rd at 3:00pm. Sid was the man behind Harvey Comics from 1954 till 1994 – 40 years of friendly ghosts, devil kids and muscle-bound ducks! Don’t miss this! And I’ll be running an all new edition of THE WORST CARTOONS EVER on Saturday night. Will Super President, Mighty Mr. Titan and Johnny Cypher In Dimension Zero return in all new episodes? Find out on Saturday July 24th.

    The most recent post at Exclamation Mark has some awesome links – eg, George Barris’ cars, temple of rats, giant clams and more!


    George Barris’ Dragula!

    Eddie: Channel-surfing this Saturday morning, I spotted a trailer for the new ‘Thunderbirds Are Go’ movie.  You ready for this?  It’s live action, and features a group of blow-waved, blemish-free, adolescents as the ‘next generation’ of the Tracy family.  Kinda of like Spy Kids with big flying machines.  You can just picture the development meetings that took place in putting this thing together…hideous, totally hideous.  A prime example of what John K. calls ‘Super-Bastardization’ at work… (Link: Original Thunderbirds series)

    More later, back to the cleaning!

Comments (4)

  • I caught an older trailer for this back in January, and although I had some trepidation about the look of the characters (Brain with no glasses!?), at that time there was no evidence of adolescent kids flying the T-birds. I wonder if they were added later, at the insistence of the studio?Why is it that studios always feel as if they “know better” than the fans who made the show popular in the first place? Practically every time they pull these kinds of casting stunts and plot reworkings, it turns out a hideously unwatchable mess.

  • The studios don’t actually like these shows, or understand the appeal of the originals – Eddie

  • I hadn’t heard about the new Thunderbirds movie before. I payed a visit to the site… it gave me heartburn and an irritable attitude. Now I have to go find my Tums :(
    Hope you two have fun at the Gene Autry Museum tomorrow. My barber, when I was growing up, worked for Gene back in the 70′s. I don’t know what he did, but he had a picture of the two of them hanging up in his shop. I used to look at it (and prayed that I left with both ears) while I was in the chair getting groomed… small world, huh?

  • Man, I envy you guys! Comi-Con is high on my wish list. Of course, it’s low on the probability list! :( It’s great, though, that you’re allowing me to live vicariously through you! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *