October 24, 2003

  • Another TOY blog…

    We were at Keith‘s apartment Tuesday night to pick up a TV that he has so kindly lent us. I couldn’t resist taking photos of his lucha toy collection. And there’s plenty more than this!

    We’ve been thinking about toys forever and have so many unanswered questions.  Why are there no luchador kubricks or vinyl figures? Wouldn’t it be cool to get our OWN lucha libre figurines out there? How does one make this dream a reality?

    *****************************************

    Fwak! Toy Story so far…

        
    © Fwak! Animation

    Those who know me know that I’ve been wanting to get figurines made of our characters ever since I discovered vinyl figures. This is a side project and mission which I’m researching and keen to learn more about. The main challenges are finding licensing contacts and knowing how to finance the design/production of prototypes.

    The figures above of Cosmic Baby, El Bastardo and Super Mahi Tiki were made by Paul Wright, a sculptor friend. (There are only 3 of these and they are not the final approved prototype designs.) 

    So where to go from here? If you are a vinyl figure savvy 3D-modeller or sculptor who can help us take our character designs to toy-production level, I’d like to discuss. Please email me!

    *****************************************

    LINKS

    • … and this very cool B-grade Mummy figure. Created by Abnormalhobby (<– interview) I’m gonna to get me one of these from Figuro.com

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *